Die Termine unserer Vorlesungen finden Sie in C@mpus





ERASMUS+ Program (Studying in Europe)

  ERASMUS+ Program
The European Commission has designed the ERASMUS+ Program to promote the mobility of students and an extensive and lasting cooperation between European universities. This is a contribution to a "Europe for active citizenship" and is meant to boost economic and social development, as a consequence of the large number of university graduates participating and having gained cooperation experience in Europe.

With this background, the European Commission offers grants for those involved in the study abroad program supported by contracts between the respective partnering universities. The credits obtained during the study abroad program will be honored by the home university, and the competent professors at the University of Stuttgart will discuss, on an individual case, whether the credits will be acknowledged.

Each co-operation program is arranged and counselled by a proficient program co-ordinator responsible for the year abroad. The German Academic Exchange Service (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)) awards the scholarships from the Federal Republic of Germany and the International Office at the University of Stuttgart is in charge of implementing all university co-operation contracts funded by the DAAD. The amount of the grant depends on the host country, where as all ERASMUS applicants will receive the same monthly grant in the host country. Furthermore, the grant also depends on the funds allocated to the University of Stuttgart (currently about 150 EURO per month).

Initially, the co-operation programm were funded to allow particular students to preferably attend lectures or do research studies in a specific subject according to their interests. However now, it is also possible to major in other subjects that meet the specific requirements of the students' individual programs.

Co-operation contracts exist between the IMWF University of Stuttgart (Institute for Materials Testing, Materials Science and Strength of Materials) and the following partner universities, the number of months accounts for the maximum number of months a student can stay at the partner university (in brackets: prolongation of ERASMUS+ cooperation is under negotiation):


 École Supérieure des Sciences et Technologies de I`Ingenieur de Nancy (ESSTIN), Nancy (2 university places / 10 months)

 Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon (INSA), Lyon (2 university places / 5 months)

 Université de Technologie de Troyes, Troyes (3 university places / 5 months)

Great Britain:

 The University of Strathclyde, Glasgow (2 university places / 6 months, 1st cycle only)


 Polytecnico di Milano, Mailand (1 university place / 10 months)


 Lublin University of Technology, Lublin (2 university places / 6 months)


 Lulea University of Technology, Lulea (4 university places / 5 months)

 Linköping University, Linköping (5 university places / 10 months)


 Universitat Jaume I, Castelló de la Plana (2 university places / 5 months, 1st cycle only)

 Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Madrid (4 university places / 6 months)


  Additional important information on Erasmus Program:

Duration of stay:

5 - 6 months (The stay can be extended if places are available)

Academic qualifications to be obtained:

It is possible to either attend lectures or work on research projects including a thesis. Due to the specific orientation of our partner universities, these programs are firstly aiming at students majoring in materials testing, materials science and strength of materials. However, applications of students who major in different subjects can also be accepted. Compulsory subjects are generally acknowledged following an individual interview.


All of our partner universities are happy to help you finding accommodation. Most of them offer student housing in university dorms.



Florian Panzer, M. Sc.